Remembering 9/11

I was in 9th grade global history class and thought lightly of the situation.

“A plane has crashed into the world trade towers”

“A second plane has crashed into the world trade towers”

“We’re not sure if this is a terrorist attack”

“One of the buildings has collapsed”

“There will be an early emergency dismissal”

We were sent out into an atmosphere of widespread chaos and confusion. My schoolmates and I couldn’t believe how many people might have JUST died. 10,000 ? 100,000 ? You could sense a mass emotion coming down on everyone.

On the bus ride home, when I saw how much smoke there was over Manhattan I had to fight back tears…you could feel death was in the air….a black curtain had covered the NYC skyline…it looked like the whole world might be able to see it.

My father told me to sit down and watch what was happening… Every channel had their eye on the trade towers, I realized it was very serious situation. On the inside, I felt like everything was going to be OK.

Seeing this kind of reality happening in real time has a strange effect on a person. Airplanes crashing, flames roaring, smoke billowing, people jumping off skyscrapers, buildings collapsing, thousands of lives ending at once… it’s a tough pill to swallow with many weeks of uncomfortable digestion.

The next few days were just as chaotic and confusing…  with everyone drawing their own conclusions as to wtf just happened. It’s still a big WTF for me.  Today, I still feel confused about it & have mixed feelings towards the situation. A lot had changed after 9/11.

All I can do is pray for the innocent lives & damn all the evil forces running the show. And of course, ask questions.

Leave a Reply

